For My Heart, Day 16: The Distance

Prince William Park Trail

“There are no traffic jams along the extra mile.” – Roger Staubach

13 laps = 5.2k

13 laps = 5.2k

Going the extra mile is so much easier when you’re amongst great four-legged company, beautiful weather, and have a goal in place that encourages you to move forward. I decided to ramp things up today by pushing a little harder in my running intervals. During them, I realized that I want someone in life who will run with me, not go a mile ahead and wait, take the other fork(s) in the road, run circles in mockery, or stay behind. It just makes the journey so much more fun. The thing is, you can’t take everyone who comes into your life with you, no matter how much you might want to. And what I know for sure is that in this life, the truth is permanent, and everything else falls to the wayside. Consider keeping that in mind to eliminate worry and doubt in every area of your life. As for me, I’m going to continue to push for more, and celebrate with the people who choose to do the same.

dogs, smiles, track, sunshine

6 laps = 2.4k

I should add that yesterday Jagger and I did get out, and it was awesome until our efforts were thwarted by soccer practice on the field our favourite track encircles. Oh well!

What does it take for you to go the distance?

Leave a comment

Filed under Goals, Quotes, Writing

Share your thoughts

