For My Heart, Day 7: Sunshine

Sunshine

“Keep your face always toward the sunshine, and shadows will fall behind you.” – Walt Whitman

What a glorious day. There’s something about sunny weather that cleanses the soul. And every time I think of Walt Whitman, I’m reminded of The Notebook, one of my favourite movies. Sunshine + Ryan Gosling? Endorphins were running high before I even got out on the track.

Ryan Gosling

I remember receiving a text once upon a time with the message “your favorite movie” (American spelling intended). It had a picture of a notepad with a post-it stuck on the front with “The Notebook” written on it. It’s little things like that, that put a smile on my face to this day…I don’t know why, but it reminds me of this line in Noah’s last letter to Allie:

And if in some distant place in the future we see each other in our new lives, I will smile at you with joy and remember how we spent a summer beneath the trees learning from each other and growing in love.

Jagger, day 7

Anyways, I could have gone for a much longer trip around the track today, but my canine companion tapped out. Guess there’s a first time for everything. Taking advantage of the momentum, however, I fit in a quick strength training session to round out the workout.

What are some of the little things that make you smile?

Leave a comment

Filed under Goals, Quotes, Writing

Share your thoughts

